Asian Grilled Vegetable Salad or How I Very Nearly Committed Cannibalism

by

So David and I JUST got back from a week in Utah. It was a week of culinary indulgence — braised short ribs, pan-seared trout, tasty charcuterie platters of local meats and cheeses, and rich chocolate desserts…

But not a lot of veggies. Let’s face it — if I’m staring at a menu, trying to decide between short ribs or a salad, braised meat ALWAYS wins.

So by the time we hit Houston on the way home, I was veggie-obsessed. You know in the Looney Tunes cartoons, when one character is super-hungry, and he looks at the other one and sees only a steaming roasted chicken? Watch it here. That’s what happened when I looked over at David, only instead of a chicken, he looked like a big steaming stalk of broccoli.

“What’s wrong with you?” He asked, as I stared at him longingly, my stomach growling with hunger. “Snap out of it!”

I’m certain he was scared for his life.

Fortunately, I came to my senses before I took a bite out of his arm. We made it home (kindly picked up at the airport by Ray of the Kitchen Mischief Limo Service), and I bolted for the grocery store with the vague plan for an Asian-inspired grilled vegetable salad. I felt like a plundering pirate. Take a look at my vegetable bounty:

The Publix cashier thought I was a secret shopper testing her produce code knowledge!

In about thirty minutes, I whipped together a tasty, healthy dinner that kept me from resorting to hallucination-induced accidental cannibalism. Here’s how I did it.

 

Asian Salad with Grilled Vegetables (and a little chicken) Serves 2 veggie-deprived, jet-lagged dudes

For the dressing/marinade:
4 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
1/2 cup rice wine vinegar
4 tsp asian chili sauce
4 tsp grated garlic
4 tsp grated ginger (peel on is OK)
4 tsp honey
2 tsp sesame oil
4 tbsp olive/canola oil
2 tbsp chopped cilantro

For the salad:
1 zucchini
1 yellow squash
1 red bell pepper
1 bunch broccoli
2 carrots
About half a pound of chicken cutlets
1 box of mixed greens (I love SuperGreens!)
First: Preheat the grill. Nest, mix together your dressing/marinade. Don’t stress if you don’t have all the stuff. Just remember to honor the requirements for tasty Asian food: Spicy (heat), Salty (soy), Sour (lime, vinegar), and Sweet (honey, brown sugar). Pour half in a Ziploc bag; reserve the other half to dress your salad.

Second: Cut your veggies for the grill. The trick is to make sure the pieces are big enough to avoid falling through your grill, but small enough to cook. Later pics should give you a good idea how to handle this. Add your veggies to the bag with the marinade, and give it a shake!

Shake-shake-shake — shake your veggies!

Remove your veggies to a plate, shaking off excess marinade, then add your chicken cutlets to the bag and repeat. Take the whole lot to the grill and cook 6-8 minutes per side, or until chicken is cooked and veggies are tender enough for you.

Finish by chopping your veggies and chicken into bite-sized chunks, then dress them and the greens with your reserved dressing.

It wasn’t pretty, and let’s be honest, not quite as tasty as a braised short rib, but this blitzkrieg of post-vacay dinner soothed my crazy veggie cravings. And probably saved my husband’s life. 😉

Kitchen Mischief Discovery: Grilled Broccoli is DELICIOUS! I can’t wait to try it again…

2 Responses to “Asian Grilled Vegetable Salad or How I Very Nearly Committed Cannibalism

  1. Susie, aka Mrs. V Says:

    Ha ha – I always love it when a character turns into roasted poultry (my favorite is probably Seinfeld’s Newman eyeing Kramer when he was using butter to keep skin moist) . . . but I truly love grilled veggies, anytime!! Thanks for the tips & recipe

  2. Randall Warren Says:

    Looks and sounds very tasty. What about some fish recipes? Crappie, bream, catfish ect.
    Randall K Warren

Leave a Reply

