My Favorite Pick-A-Pair

by

My perfect pair

All this talk of giving away pairs has made me crave my favorite food pair – soup and grilled cheese.  To feed this craving, I made the creamy tomato-basil soup I posted previously, so I wanted to concentrate on that tasty, toasty sandwich we loved as kids – the grilled cheese.  But not just any grilled cheese – grown-up grilled cheese. 

What makes them grown-up?  We are not making these babies from processed cheese product. No, we are upping the ante.  So I chose a few yummy replacements to the processed cheese product. First, I used Edam cheese from Mississippi State.  Yes, Mississippi State makes cheese from their very own cows!  So take that Ole Miss!  All you have given us are two Super Bowl quarter backs and one sassy, squirrel (Josh Miller)…well, you can’t eat any of those without being called a cannibal. 

A ball of cheesy goodness

Edam cheese is a very easy melting cheese similar to a cheddar-swiss mix.  I paired that cheese with crispy prosciutto.  The next cheese is a goat cheese.  I pair the bright tasting cheese with prosciutto, arugula and fresh cracked pepper.  The last cheese is a tasty Gruyère.  I paired that with thinly sliced tomato, fresh basil and salt and pepper. 

You can’t make a grilled cheese without good bread, so I went to Whole-paycheck Foods and got some hearty breads to hold up against these cheese combos.  A crusty sourdough and a sunflower seed-wheat bread did just the trick.

At this point I would give you the recipe but I just gave you the ingredients above, so why don’t I just give you some tips to a perfect grilled cheese. 

  • Though you want a hot pan to toast the bread and melt the cheese, you want to heat it at a medium heat.  Too high and the bread will burn and the cheese won’t have time to melt.  I used a Panini pan but I really should have used my favorite pan – a cast-iron skillet. 
  • Brush the outside of the bread with a little butter or olive oil to help the toasting process.
  • I crisped the prosciutto ahead of time so it is not chewy.
  • Don’t be afraid to experiment with your favorite fillings. 

Let’s see how these combos turned out.

Grilled Edam Cheese with Crispy Prosciutto

Edam melts so easily

Grilled Gruyère with Tomato and Fresh Basil

My pan got a little hot so the bread toasted before the cheese melted.

Grilled Goat Cheese with Crispy Prosciutto and Arugula (our favorite)

Sooooo gooooood

A perfect pair can create great memories…kind of like the pair Kitchen Mischief is giving away.  I hope you make soemthing that you crave and don’t forget a little mischief never hurts.  😉

Leave a Reply

