A Different Kind of Jam

by

All photos by Ray Hydrick...except the jam poster.

Hello Mischief Makers! Sorry for the late post. While Josh and David were out on the open ocean enjoying a cruise and pretending to be Rose and Jack from the movie Titanic (hopefully their cruise won’t end the same as the movie – we don’t need Josh dressed as an old woman throwing a big o’ diamond off the boat), I was holding down the fort at Mischief Central and I have a doozie for you.

Recently, the Ray and I attended a Sangeria Party in Atlanta and while there we ate brunch at Marlow’s Tavern. Great food and bloody marys. At Marlow’s they serve a house-made, sweet-tasting ketchup. It turns out to be tomato-bacon jam. What?! I know! My little mischief mind went a whirling. When I came home and did my research, I was amazed at the fact that this pretty common. There were tons of recipes but all listed the same ingredients and amounts, so apparently a good thing does travel fast. But it would be Kitchen Mischief without a twist. I decided to add a little shredded Granny Smith apple for tartness and natural sweetness. After making the recipe, I found it a little sweet so the recipe below as been altered to make it less sweet – if you want sweet, I will put the amount I used in parentheses. Let’s get this tomato-bacon party started.

Tomato-Bacon Jam
1/2 lb smoked bacon
2 lbs ripe tomatoes, cored and chopped
1 medium yellow onion, diced
1 Granny Smith apple, peeled and grated
2/3 cup sugar (1 cup if you like sweet)
3 tablespoons cider vinegar
1 1/2 teaspoons
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

Cook the bacon – if you enjoy the splatter of grease all over you and your stove, cook the bacon in the pan until browned and crisp. If you would like to save yourself from splatter burns, place the bacon on a sheet pan and bake at 375 until browned and crisp. Either way you choose, place the bacon on a paper towel to drain excess grease.

See crispy, flat bacon...with no grease burns! And yes, they were a little over-done.

Combine remaining ingredients in a large saucepan. Bring to a boil, stirring often. Reduce the heat to medium. Crumble bacon into mixture. Simmer for 1 hour or until very thick.

Whole bunch of goodness

Marlow’s in Atlanta purees their jam into a tomato sauce, I rather have some texture so I blended my with a hand-blender, but you can use a blender or food processor.

Post blend

What can you do with it?
I made a chicken burger (actually, I made burger-sized portions of this great meatball recipe) and used it as the condiment. It was awesome. But you could put it on Josh’s devil burger to relieve the heat or dip your grilled cheese in it. Heck, use it as ketchup for your fries.

Mmmmm, chicken burger

Jam doesn’t have to be made with berries and such…I even saw a recipe for bacon jam. I love bacon but I may need to save up my Lipitor to try that one. 😉

Tags:

5 Responses to “A Different Kind of Jam”

  1. Susie Says:

    OMGoodness this sounds delicious, and easy enough for me to give it a try.

  2. inspired2010 Says:

    Oh MY!!! MY!!! sounds A-MAZ-ING!!!! Do you ship???? Just kidding; thanks for sharing!

  3. Domi Jaerls Says:

    Could this be made in a much larger batch and canned to enjoy the year round?

    • Matthew Says:

      Domi, as long as you have a large enough pot to cook in, it should be fine. I would stir it often so that it cooks down evenly.

  4. Randall k. Warren Says:

    Gotta try this. It sounds and looks delish. It would be wonderful with veggies. Turnip greens, collards, cabbage, ect.

Leave a Reply

