Triple-Wing Play

by

All photos (except for this one) by Ray Hydrick

Hey Kids, Super Bowl Sunday is coming up next week and Kitchen Mischief wants to make sure you have a game plan for your Super Bowl Party. Normally, you would order pizza or serve junk food but this year make something different. Something with a little mischief. I have a Triple Wing Play. Grilled chicken wings tossed in three flavorful sauces.

Let’s talk about chicken wings. I purchased the family pack of whole wings and cut them into hot-wing size potions. It’s way cheaper than buying them pre-cut.

Chicken Wing kick line!

Let me show you how to cut them.

If you’re like me, I always thought these wing pieces came from midget chickens – little tiny drum sticks and little baby wings. But they’re not and now we know; and knowing is half the battle! G.I. Pollo!

After all your wings have been dismantled, give them a nice wash under cold water and pat them dry.  They need to be really dry.  The drier the skin, the crispier they become.

Just me patting my chicken pieces dry. I think I'm smiling because my pain meds just kicked in.

Once dry, spray them with cooking spray and sprinkle with salt and pepper. You could use olive oil but with the amount of fat that is in the chicken skin, you would probably catch your grill on fire. The spray will help crisp the skin and not add additional oil to it.

Spraying for crispness not for lubrication

I grilled the wings over medium-high heat. I wanted to crisp the skin without setting them on fire. I grilled them for aprox 25-30 minutes. I know that sounds like a long time but I wanted crisp skin, so I turned them often to achieve that.

Put the bigger pieces over the hottest part of the grill.

While those are grilling, let’s talk about sauces. I made three – Hot, Sweet & Sour, Asian and wait for it…Truffle Butter. Yes, I said truffle butter. I made small batches of wings and sauces so the recipes reflect that. You can make bigger vats, just use the same ratio of ingredients. Let me tell you what’s in them.

Ray has them lined up like convicts

Hot, Sweet & Sour Sauce
3 tablespoons Hot Pepper Jelly (I got mine from a family friend)
2 tablespoons vinegar (I used white basalmic)
1 tablespoon habenero pepper sauce  (see pic)
1/2 lemon, juice
Salt & pepper

Add all ingredients in a bowl. Microwave for 20 seconds. Whisk together.

Tangy, Sweet and Spicy

Asian Glaze

Here is the second lineup

3 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon garlic chili paste
1 tablespoon toaste sesame seeds

Add all ingredients in a bowl. Microwave for 20 seconds. Whisk together.

Sweet, Spicy and Soy-ee (?)

Truffle Butter

1 tablespoon black truffle butter (found at Whole Foods)

Love in a container

Salt & pepper
Melt truffle butter in bowl. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Rich, buttery, and luscious

Once the wings are done. Separate in separate equal portions in small bowls. Drizzle the sauces/glazes over the wings and toss with tongs. If the glaze is too thin (such as the Asian), place them back on the grill for 3-4 minutes to dry the glaze. Amazing.

Another Quick Snack for the Party
Want some microwave popcorn without paying $5 a box?  Put 1/4 cup of popcorn in a basic brown lunch bag, fold the top down twice. Place in the microwave. My microwave has a popcorn setting – I used that. If yours does not, place it on high for 4 minutes and just listen until the popping slows.  Make great popcorn without any of the fat. However, I may have added a little fat…by drizzling the popped corn with truffle butter and sprinkled with salt&pepper. Yes, I am addicted to truffle butter…call A&E Interventions.

Big o' bag of popcorn

For those who didn’t know, I just survived a horrendous experience at making homemade mozzarella. It then became a kidnapping and captive situation. I found myself in a pit like that in the movie Silence of Lambs, the mozzarella taunting me from the rim above. Thanks to Josh’s well-placed posters I was found and upon my escape I vowed to conquer this beast but until then I must continue my life – so says my therapist. Next week I will open up my heart and share this story…hopefully, it will save someone and heal my soul. This is just a glimpse of next week’s heart-wrenching story.

The harassment from the ruined milk was taking its toll.

4 Responses to “Triple-Wing Play”

  1. Loves me some Kitchen Mischief Says:

    Wow Truffle Butter!!! Soooooooo Good – on Wings or popcorn, or heck, on anything!!!

  2. rhbulldawg Says:

    These wings were DE-LICIOUS!!! Make these for the big game and you’ll be a hero! (P.S. don’t forget the beer)

  3. Josh Says:

    JOSH WANTS TRUFFLE BUTTER WINGS.

  4. Jamie Says:

    I’m going to have to find some truffle butter – you look so happy. And maybe some pain meds – they couldn’t hurt.

    These all look like great sauces for some wings and beer. I can’t wait to try!

Leave a Reply

