Watch this Weight Watchers!

by

All photos by Ray Hydrick

I don’t understand this counting points situation with Weight Watchers.  When dining with friends who are on the point system, they will look at a plate of food and, like a savant, tally the number of points it would cost them.  I would be in Hell – I don’t think long division is needed to eat food.  Don’t get me wrong, the system works and people are losing weight, so I am not here to judge.  I guess, recently, I have been providing the not-so-healthy recipes on Kitchen Mischief.  Playing the part of the little devil on your shoulder tempting you to the dark, yet oh-so-yummy, side of the culinary world.  If you think about it, my average number of  WW points would be 579 – quite possibly my cholesterol level.  But today I am here to change that number, I bring you something on the other side of the spectrum, something light but packed with flavor – Chicken & Broccoli with a Ginger-Soy Sauce.  

What makes this dish different from any other is that I used a minuscule amount of oil or fat in the dish.  WHAT!?  I know! Last recipe had a 1/2 cup of oil to make a roux, but not today, no sir.  I used a spritz of olive oil cooking spray and 1/2 teaspoon of sesame oil (approx. 30 calories).  That is it!  Just remember, like we told you before, fat = flavor; so when you remove the fat, you have to pump up the flavor, which I did.     

How did I do perform this culinary miracle?  Steaming.  I can hear you now, “Yes, Matthew, steaming is so revolutionary.  Please tell us how to make this new thing called fire as well.”  Hear me out. In this recipe, I steam the chicken and  

Either metal flower or Chinese throwing weapon?

 the broccoli to cook them without oil but then add a punch of flavor with the sauce.  Now most of you may be using those fancy-pants electric steamer, but not me.  I used my old metal, flower-looking steamer insert.  Keep your new, fancy electric steamer; this baby does just as good if not better…and quite possibly could be used as a weapon.  Let’s get this low-fat party started.   

Chicken & Broccoli with a Ginger-Soy Sauce
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 head of broccoli, cut into spears
1/2 cup red bell pepper (tri-color optional), diced
1 lemon, zested
1 clove garlic, sliced
Chicken Broth
2/3 cup Ginger-Soy sauce (recipe below)
1 tablespoon corn starch  

Ginger-Lime Sauce
3 tablespoons lite-soy sauce
1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
1 teaspoon grated ginger
1 clove garlic, grated
1/2 to 1 teaspoon of garlic-chili paste (depending on your taste)
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 lemon, juiced  

To pack as much flavor in the chicken during the steaming process, we are going to use the chicken broth as the water for the steaming process.  Place the steamer basket in a large sauce pan.  Pour enough chicken broth to cover the bottom of the pan, up to the bottom of the basket (if using the same as mine in picture).  Add garlic and lemon zest to the liquid.  While bringing the broth to boil, slice the chicken breasts at an angle (to create thin slices) trying to keep the slices the same size for even cooking. 

Slicing at an angle helped keep the slices thin and even

Once the broth is boiling, place the chicken slices in the steamer basket and cover with lid.  Steam the chicken for approx. 5 minutes, turning the chicken half way through.    

A little under-done

While the chicken is steaming, place all sauce ingredients in a bowl and whisk to combine.  In another bowl, place corn starch and 1/4 cup of COLD or room-temperature chicken broth or water, whisk to combine.   

Add the broccoli.  Steam for additional 4 minutes, stirring half way through.  

Little broccoli steam room

While the chicken and broccoli steam, place a saute pan over medium-high heat.  Spray with non-stick cooking spray.  Once hot, add bell pepper pieces and saute for 2 minutes.   

Ray getting sassy with the action shot!

Add chicken and broccoli.  Stirring to combine.   

Didn't use a wok this time. I thought about those who don't have one.

Add sauce.  Stir to combine.  Add 2 tablespoons of corn starch mixture.   

Add a little at a time...a little goes a long way.

If the sauce looks too thick, add a little of the steaming broth to thin it out.   Serve over brown rice.  

Don't waste that chicken broth! Use it to thin out your sauce.

Making healthy meals just takes a few tricks and a lot of flavor. I need to change my image, bring down my Weight Watchers point average and better yet, my cholesterol!  It doesn’t have to be a New Year’s Resolution to eat better, just needs the right ingredients.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Watch this Weight Watchers!”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Looks delicious! And fewer dishes to wash by steaming everything together.

  2. Sally Bone Says:

    Matthew,

    I mentioned butter cup squash last year. We just had one from Publix, and it was wonderful. Get one if you can. We just cut it in half,scooped out the seeds and baked it, cut side down for an hour and 15 minutes. Bob asked if I had put brown sugar in it. I hadn’t but it was such a rich taste that he thought I had.

    I have enjoyed the “mischief.”

Leave a Reply

