Marshmall-Oh, My Goodness!

by

All photos by Ray Hydrick

During mine and Josh’s culinary adventures, we have tried several recipes, and after we have cut ourselves, burned ourselves or become so overwhelmed by stress that we look like Linda Blair from “The Exorcist,”  we admit that it is easier to buy the product than make it ourselves.  But it wouldn’t be Kitchen Mischief if we didn’t try, right?  However, I have to admit my latest quest into the unknown had very different results.

I decided to try to make marshmallows.  I told  people at work and they asked, “why would you WANT to make homemade marshmallows?”  Well, for the adventure and I heard that once you’ve tasted homemade, you would never go back.  It. Is. True.  The marshmallows out of bag have that rough, leathery skin,  like an unkempt bunion or elbow.  The homemade marshmallows are soft and fluffy, like a baby lamb or a newborn Peep.

I went looking for a recipe and found that my culinary-sweetheart Ina Garten had one.  She has never steered me wrong, so I will follow wherever she leads.

Mischief Tips:
Gelatin Blooming — Gelatin must be allowed to “bloom.”  This allows the gelatin time to absorb water and helps with a smooth texture.  The best way to bloom gelatin is to sprinkle the desired amount into cool water.  This prevents clumping.
Kid Safety — If you decide to make this easy recipe with your kids, just be very careful with the boiling sugar…even a small drip from this hot lava could cause very bad burns.  Believe me. Very. Bad. Burns.  😦

Homemade Marshmallows
3 packages unflavored gelatin
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 cup light corn syrup
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
7 ounces sweetened shredded coconut, toasted

Combine the gelatin and 1/2 cup of cold water in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment and allow to sit while you make the syrup.

Looks kind of gross...just don't ask me what gelatin is made from.

Meanwhile, combine the sugar, corn syrup, salt, and 1/2 cup water in a small saucepan and cook over medium heat until the sugar dissolves.

I use a plunger type measuring cup for easy pouring.

Raise the heat to high and cook until the syrup reaches 240 degrees F on a candy thermometer. Remove from the heat.

Please do not use this on humans.

With the mixer on low-speed, slowly pour the sugar syrup into the dissolved gelatin.

I poured my hot, boiling, lava of sugar in a Pyrex measuring cup for easy pouring.

Put the mixer on high-speed and whip until the mixture is very thick, about 15 minutes. Add the vanilla and mix thoroughly.

It sho' is fluffy, like a cloud!

Sprinkle half the toasted coconut in an 8 by 12-inch nonmetal pan. Pour in the marshmallow batter and smooth the top of the mixture with damp hands. Sprinkle on the remaining toasted coconut.

I sprinkled most with coconut, leaving a few "naked"

Allow to dry uncovered at room temperature overnight.

While waiting on the marshmallows to dry, I slipped into a deep sugar coma from licking the bowl.

Remove the marshmallows from the pan and cut into squares. Roll the sides of each piece carefully in confectioners’ sugar. Store uncovered at room temperature.

I made some without coconut

Need a Toasting Tip?
In a dry saute pan, add the coconut and place over medium heat.  Continue to stir coconut until lightly brown.

Keep that spoon a turnin' or that coconut will be burnin'

Serving Tip:
I add a little melted semi-sweet chocolate to send these little, fluffy sugar cubes over the edge. Or imagine these babies on a S’more!  Jesus take the wheel!

Yes, I could have purchased a boring bag of leathery marshmallows and made it easy on myself, but that wouldn’t have been fun…or mischievous.  Well, I’m going back to my sugar coma.  I need to rest up for my trip to the boiling-sugar burn unit. 😉

Tags: ,

12 Responses to “Marshmall-Oh, My Goodness!”

  1. Ben Says:

    Don’t forget … watch when making sugar icings… or candies on rainy, wet… heavy moisture days… it will always clump up because of the extra moisture in the air….my own mischief’s can relate to that fact
    I will definitely have to try this one!

    • Matthew Says:

      Preach it, Ben! I was very lucky that the humidity was low the days I made these or I would have had goo. Plus, we turned the air down a little in the house to make it a little cooler – which I did not complain about.

      Divinity is the world’s worst candy to make in the South because of the humid weather. UGH.

  2. Jamie Says:

    I am a HUGE fan of Peeps (especially after placing them in the microwave to watch them blow up like the StayPuff Man in Ghostbusters), but I was lucky enough to try some of Matthew’s creations, and they are better than any marshmellow that I have ever had.

    I can’t wait until Winter so I can try these in my hot chocolate!

  3. Sarah Bailey Says:

    I love Kitchen Mischief! I have been blog stalking you guys since you started it and am always amused by your posts. I have been making my own marshmallows for almost 10 years, so I thought I finally needed to comment. I have to agree – they are so good! Even people that don’t like marshmallows love homemade ones. I try to make two batches every year at Christmas – either chocolate or vanilla and a new flavor. YUM!

    • Matthew Says:

      Sarah,

      I am flattered that you blog stalk us. If you become a peeping tom, there may need to be a intervention. 🙂

      I would love to know how you make the chocolate ones or any other flavors you have tried. You can post it here or send to my email address: matthew.kitchenmischief@gmail.com.

      Thanks Sarah!!!

      • Sarah Bailey Says:

        I’m not stalking anymore, I’m participating!!

        Here’s the recipe I use:

        http://www.oprah.com/food/Homemade-Marshmallows

        Almost the same as yours, but no coconut. For chocolate, I add 1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder after beating it until thick and white. I dust the pan and top with a 1/2 and 1/2 mix of cocoa powder and powdered sugar (also use that for the sides after cutting them up). And I only use 1 tablespoon of vanilla. They are so rich and chocolately. This is making me want some. Might have to be a Treat of the Week soon! Chocolate mint and chocolate almond are good as well. Just add the appropriate extract! I’ve also experimented with different liquors, but I’m talking too much and am going to shut up now!

  4. mariadaniels5 Says:

    I have made homemade marshmallows for years…my fav are the almond flavored ones..and coffee ones covered in dark chocolate! YUM!!! Ok I know sugar is the devil but almonds are heart healthy, coffee has been shown to prevent alzheimers, and Dark chocolate is heat healthy as well…soooo…it can’t be that bad….right??

    Maria

  5. Ray Says:

    Such great ideas coming from the fans. We should have a marshmallow party! 🙂

    • Maria Says:

      Oh Yeah!! We should do it via webcam…burning…cooking…eating them together…all using our wonderful willow house products…I see it being BIG…lol

Leave a Reply

