Black Garlic…Say What?!?

by

Four out of five cats agree, black garlic is surprising!

If I’m the last person on the planet to find out about this, please forgive my ignorance. Two nights ago David and I were watching Top Chef DC, and during the Quickfire challenge one of the ingredients was black garlic.

My ears perked up and I sprang to attention on the couch like a curious meerkat. Black garlic? What the what? I don’t know what happened during the challenge because I immediately grabbed Droid to tell me what the hey-diddle-diddle this black garlic was all about.

While I was waiting for Droid to retrieve info from the internets, my brain was enraptured with this fantastic “new” ingredient. Was it ancient? It seemed ancient. Some kind of crazy Chinese alchemy? Or perhaps it was specially cultivated by Romanians to ward off particularly nasty vampires?

Turns out black garlic’s backstory is not so dramatic, or historic. It’s a relatively new creation (2008). It’s created by fermenting regular garlic at high temperatures for a period of three weeks. You can read the real story here (it’s totally worth it), but essentially it’s like putting garlic in a tanning bed for three weeks.

It's so crazy-looking!

The result is this crazy-looking garlic that is reportedly “a perfect mix of molasses-like richness and tangy garlic undertones, with a melt-in-your-mouth consistency.”

Of course I immediately ordered 12 cloves online. There was no point in resisting. I knew I simply must have this intriguing new ingredient! You can order it here.

Matthew and Ben ā€” don’t order any. I got some for you. We can all play with it when it comes in and see what kind of mischief we can cook up! Fun times!

That’s it for today…have a great Friday and an even greater weekend!

5 Responses to “Black Garlic…Say What?!?”

  1. Ray Says:

    Black garlic sounds evil. (but I want to taste it).

  2. Matthew Says:

    I’m glad you explained this…I thought you burned your roasted garlic again.

  3. alison Says:

    Robert and I can’t wait to hear more about this mystery garlic! He saw it in Milwaukee and was intrigued but resisted the urge in case it smelled on the way home!

  4. Ariel Hereda Says:

    After exploring a handful of the blog articles on your blog, I honestly appreciate your way of writing a blog. I book-marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my website too and tell me what you think.|

Leave a Reply

