In the Mood for Fast Food? Naaaaan…

by

Did you know that 87% of diets fail because of weekend splurges? I totally made that up, but it could be true. Seriously, the truth is this — time is the real culprit when it comes to making bad food decisions. When you’re in a midweek rush or coming in from a Friday night out, you don’t have the time or the pantry support to make something reasonably healthy. And that’s why you turn to fast food.

STOP! Don’t do it! Make a pledge with me right now: I will not order toxic waste from Krystal. I will commit to making a little extra mischief of behalf of my health.

Here’s the good news: This is easier than you think. I have a really quick meal idea that you can make in 20 minutes or less, and it’s much better for you than a late-night drive-thru: Naan-Bread Quick Pizzas.

Pronounced, "Non" like "Don" not "Nan" like "Dan"

Just to clarify, I’m not saying Non-Bread…this is not some crazy carb-less pizza. So what’s naan? It’s basically India’s ciabatta bread. It’s a flatbread, but with much more flavor. I find mine at Publix, in the deli section near the wraps. The calorie count is very reasonable, they come in packs of two, and they keep in the fridge. Plus, they have a lot more flavor than regular pre-made pizza crusts. Here’s how you do it.

Store-bought sauce is super easy. I like Paul Newman's Sockarooni.

Turn on your oven to 375. Lay out your naan, and top each with 3 big TBSP of marinara or pesto. Then, add the true star of this light, late-night anti fast-food pizza:

I just realized that nowhere does it say "Turkeyroni." Probably because that sounds stupid.

Turkey Roni. What a godsend! Like the package says, a serving has 70% less fat than pepperoni, and I swear you can’t taste the difference. A serving has 80 calories, and that involves 17 slices! It’s a wonderful little cheat!

Okay, so here’s the part where we lose a little lightness. Cheese. You don’t have to put on a ton, and you can go with part-skim mozzarella. I like to grate some fresh parmesan over the top for bite, but you can really use whatever you like. Some fresh pepper and spices are also a nice touch. Cook for 10-12 minutes, or until the cheese melts.

Oops...looks like I got excited and ate a piece.

Here's another tip: cut the pizza in small squares...it lasts longer.

Finish with a simple salad and you have a quick, easy meal that is definitely better for you than chili cheese fries and processed meat patties. I can also give this recipe the Mischief Seal of Approval: I have made it 87 times (a few of those were late-night Fridays, if you know what I mean) and they always come out tasty and delicious. And much more healthy than a Tombstone.

That’s all for now. I know we’ve been teasing you, but Sushi Week is truly on the horizon. Now that my cuts have healed, and Matthew finally woke up from his rice coma, we are ready to share our stories. Have a wonderful weekend, and remember your pledge! Say NO to fast food, and YES to Mischief! 😉

7 Responses to “In the Mood for Fast Food? Naaaaan…”

  1. Darlene Williamson Says:

    LOVE Naan bread! I happened upon it awhile back and used it as a side to a salad–just heat on a flat pan and slice for individual servings. Sooo tasty. Thanks for this great pizza recipe. Love your humor.

  2. Melody Rush Says:

    Naan Pizza sounds good and the directions are super easy. And, your photos make it look very yummy. I can’t wait to try this! Thanks, Josh, for sharing.

    • Josh Says:

      Thanks, Melody! I hope you have fun making it. They’re also fun for kids, cause they can make their own pizza really easily. Thanks for reading!

  3. In the Mood for Fast Food? Naaaaan… « Kitchen Mischief! « fast food combo Says:

    […] original here: In the Mood for Fast Food? Naaaaan… « Kitchen Mischief! tags: culprit, fast, fast food, making, mood, real, the-real, the-truth, truth, weekend-splurges, […]

  4. In the Mood for Fast Food? Naaaaan… « Kitchen Mischief! « fast food combo Says:

    […] here to see the original: In the Mood for Fast Food? Naaaaan… « Kitchen Mischief! tags: culprit, diets-fail, fast food, food-, mood, real, result, the-real, the-truth, […]

  5. Frankie Jackson Says:

    Josh-This is just the kind of food I need to keep me from eating unhealthily.
    I can’t wait to try this with my 3 and a half year old grandson. He’s a picky eater but he loves to help me in the kitchen. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

