Crabtastrophe!

by

Is that a hamburger patty? Nope! A over-browned crab cake.

This week my culinary ego was knocked down a couple of notches.  Josh and I had just completed testing recipes for Sushi Week (coming soon!) and we had half a container of crab meat left.  I didn’t want this tasty meat to go to waste so I decided to make crab cakes (or in Ray’s world – “Cakes of Death”).  I watched these little decadent cakes being made on every cooking show on TV.  For the love of Pete, how hard could they be?  Well, I found out.    

As with many of our posts here on Kitchen Mischief, we may make errors or over cook something but it still taste good.  I didn’t beak the tradition in this culinary journey.  

Let me just admit something before I get started.  I don’t fry things.  You can look back on the recipes I have submitted – no frying.  I may sear or saute but never fry with oil.  I don’t like.  It is messy and smells my house up like some fried chicken joint from hell.  I run around with Febreeze for two days trying to get the smell of the house back to normal.   And as I have mentioned before, Ray is allergic to seafood (so he says) and so the exaggerated smell fried of crab wafting through the house had him wheezing like a cat with a hairball. 

I decided to prepare these cakes two ways – one by frying them in oil and the other by following the “Maryland-way” of broiling the cakes in the oven.  To make this recipe “my own”, I decided to add a little Sriracha chili sauce to the mix for a little spice.  Also, I will list the amounts of the ingredients I used but I will also give you what they SHOULD have been.  Lawd, let’s get 

Gallery of ingredients

 this crabtstrophe started. 

Crabtstrophe Crab Cakes
3/4 lb blue crab meat (mine was leftovers, use a 1 lb)
1/2 cup olive oil mayo (use 1/4 cup)
1/2 cup plain bread crumbs (use 1/4 cup)
1 egg
1 tablespoon Old Bay (use 1 1/2 teaspoons)
2 scallions, split and sliced
1 teaspoon sriracha chili sauce 

Add all ingredient to the bowl and fold in till mixed (by folding you will not break up the crab meat as much).  If mixture seems a little wet, add sprinkle more bread crumbs. Form into patties. 

Don't judge the mush!

Southern Fried Way
Add oil to a non-stick skillet, just enough to cover the bottom.  Over medium to medium-high heat, when the oil starts “shimmering”, add the crab cake.  

Frying my crab cake...with the splattering and spitting

Fry on each side for 3-4 minutes until brown. Place on paper towel to absorb extra grease and serve the sauce of your choice.      

Fried Crab Cake - why is one half covered up?...you'll find out

 Maryland Crab Cake Way
After forming your patties, pre-heat your oven’s broiler.  Place on greased oven-proof skillet or sheet pan.  Broil for 5-7 minutes on each side.  Watching for desired browning.   Serve with favorite sauce.  

Maryland-style Crab Cake - or is it fried? Looks the same.

 I came to the conclusion that the Maryland style crab cake was just as tasty and actually better for you – less fat from the grease.  It looked almost exactly like a fried crab cake.  Plus, no greasy cleanup and the house won’t smell like a Fry-Daddy. 

So why was this a Crabtstrophe?
Well, if you notice in the first pic at the top of the post – you see a complete yet overly browned crab cake.  But, in the second pic under the Southern Fried section you see only half.  Why?  I was carrying the crab cake to the plate and it split into and fell to the floor.  YUM!  Also, both the Maryland crab cake and the fried on looks exactly the same – a.k.a. – burned.  They tasted really good BUT they looked liked  hockey pucks or those retched salmon patties my mom tried to feed me as a kid.  Plus, my house still smells. 

So things happen in the kitchen that might make you reconsider your love of food; but it’s the love of the food that keeps you trying again.  So I will try again…once I watch a 100 more crab cake shows and get this grease smell out of my house. 😉

5 Responses to “Crabtastrophe!”

  1. David Says:

    What did Ray get to eat?!

  2. Jamie Says:

    They look like they have a lot of flavor! I’m sure that they were good. Hope Ray didn’t lick the bowl…

  3. Rhbulldawg Says:

    I wore a hazmat suit and held an epi pen just in case

Leave a Reply

