Spring is Here…and so are the Salads

by

Photos by Ray Hydrick

This last week I went into a local restaurant and ordered a new menu item – Braised Beans.  Expecting something warms and savory, I received a tangy white bean salad.  I was pleasantly surprised.  Just on a side note: I went back that same week and ordered the Braised Beans – expecting the bean salad and received what looked like white bean soup.  Confused?  Yes.  Apparently they serve Bi-polar Braised Beans.

Well, I let the taste of that white bean salad whirl around in my head and I decided to make it.  I had a better chance at remembering the ingredients – not like last time, my stolen recipe challenge was jaded by too many cocktails. 

I am not a planner when it comes to beans – Josh has them down to a fine science, not me, so I used canned white navy beans.  Just be sure to drain the gooey liquid and rinse the beans in a colander. 

Very few ingredients but a whole lot of taste

White Bean Salad
2 cans of White Navy Beans
1 small tomato diced
4 tablespoons red onion – small diced
1 medium cucumber –  small diced
2 scallions – diced
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon cracked pepper
Dressing:
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon white balsamic vinegar
1/2 lemon – juiced
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary (1/4 teaspoon fresh)

Drain and rinse you beans and place in a medium bowl.  Add cucumber, onion, tomato, scallions, salt and pepper.  Mix to combine – be careful not to break the beans.  In a small bowl, add all dressing ingredients.  Whisk to combine.  Pour over bean mixture and mix to combine. 

The dressing enhances the flavors, not overpowers

Great mixture or flavors and textures

Add feta if you like – I didn’t have any but I wish I had. 😦  This is a cool salad is full of flavor and is perfect to go along with summer BBQs or sandwiches at the beach.

Speaking of the beach – Kitchen Mischief is going on vacation!  Don’t worry our lovely readers, we will be doing some top notch Kondo Kooking.  We are taking our cameras, our laptops and maybe sharing a video or two.  Josh and I in the same kitchen cooking together –  Lawd, who knows what mischief will be had in a kondo kitchen.  These could be our best posts ever or the ones with the most emergency room visits –   come back and check us out. 🙂

2 Responses to “Spring is Here…and so are the Salads”

  1. Jamie Says:

    This sounds great! I bet that dressing would be good over a pasta salad concoction – whole wheat and semi-healthly, of course.

  2. Josh Says:

    Kondo Kooking here we come!!!!

Leave a Reply

