The. Best. Cookies. EVER.

by

Hola and Happy Friday! Today it’s my extreme pleasure to share one of my favorite recipes with you—Oatmeal Cookies with Dark Chocolate, Coconut, and Walnuts. I LOVE these cookies so much, it’s annoying. When I share them and folks say, “Josh, these cookies are SO good,” I reflexively respond with the super-humble, “I know, right?!” Honestly, they’re the only cookie I ever make. They’re the perfect combination of chewy, crispy, sweet, and salty. I could eat one every day—and when I have them around, I do. But the good thing is that they’re relatively light…under 100 calories a cookie. And if I have a choice between a 100-calorie pack of sweetened cardboard “cookie” crisps and one of these chunky hunks of bliss, well—I think you know what I’m going to do.

Oatmeal Cookies with Dark Chocolate, Coconut, and Walnuts
They may sound decadent, but the modest amount of fat keeps these cookies  relatively light. The fiber and protein cancel all that out anyway, right?  Feel free to sub in your favorite nuts…almonds would be delicious. You can also cut out a chunk of calories by nixing the coconut…if you’re into that.

DRY MIX
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 1/4 cups quick cooking oats (not instant)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt (i add a little extra)

WET INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup regular sugar
1/4 cup softened butter

1 extra-large egg
2-3 tsp vanilla
1 tsp almond extract

FINAL STIR-INS
1/4 cup flaked sweetened coconut
1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
1/4 cup chopped walnuts

First things first, make sure your butter is softened. Not crazy soft—just about an hour out of the fridge. Too soft and the cookies will bake out like pancakes. I know from experience.  Meanwhile, go ahead and add the dry ingredients together in their own bowl. Combine and give them a stir.

For the wet ingredients, start by creaming together your butter and sugars in bowl, using a hand or stand mixer, about 2 to 3 minutes. Add the egg and extracts, and beat briefly until combined. With the mixer on low, add in the dry mix a little at a time, mixing just to combine. FYI: Overmixing will make your cookies dense.

Finally, add in the good stuff: Coconut, walnuts, and chocolate, briefly stirring to incorporate. You might have to use your hands,
because the dough is dense and crumbly, and you have to work those chocolate chips in.

I like to line my cookie sheets with parchment paper, but a spray of Pam will do. The dough is a little crumbly, so follow these instructions (and the “helpful” photos below) to shape your cookies: (1) Use a tablespoon to scoop out a hunk of dough. (2) take the dough into your palm, then give it squeeze (3); now switch hands (4) and give it another squeeze (5). Repeat if necessary, then place on the cookie sheet, pushing down lightly to semi-flatten (6). Rinse and repeat.

Bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool on racks and store in an airtight container to preserve the chewiness. Makes 24-30 cookies. NUTRIONAL INFO: 95 calories per cookie; 3.6 g fat (1.8 sat); 12 mg cholesterol; 47.5 mg potassium; 16 g carbs; 1.2 g fiber; 1.4 g protein.

In case I didn’t make it clear enough just how much I’m obsessed with these cookies, this photo, taken stealthily by Peter the Kat, should sum it up. Treat yourself to some cookies and have a wonderful weekend!

7 Responses to “The. Best. Cookies. EVER.”

  1. David Says:

    You obsession with these cookies is a bit “annoying”. Would it kill you to throw me a bone and give me a plain ole sugar cookie? Or maybe those lovely oatmeal, cranberry and white chocolate ones? We have these cookies so much I feel like Wilford Brimley!!

  2. David Says:

    “Your” whatev! You know what I meant.

  3. Katie Says:

    JOSH!! You have Culinary ESP.

    I was JUST talking about these cookies two days ago. I told my current co-workers about my brillant former co-worker who made the best cookies I’d ever eaten. I even started to blog about how I wished I could bake and that these cookies were the first thing I’d make….but then I got depressed because I knew mine would never taste as good and deleted my post.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Peter’s photography skills do seem to be improving!

  5. Should I Get Her a Cookie? No, Juice is Better. « Kitchen Mischief! Says:

    […] I am obsessed with them. I talk about them all the time, and make them almost once a week. I even blogged about them. I went on and on about how healthy they were, blah blah blah. So imagine my horror when I printed […]

Leave a Reply

