Matthew=1, Bad Planning=0

by
Photo and Potatoes By Matthew

Photo and Potatoes By Matthew

So I am going to be honest, I am not always as organized as I want to be.  I don’t always plan in advance and because of that, mischief prevails.  But sometimes when you’re under the pressure of putting something on the table, ingenuity kicks in.  This happened last weekend when we had friends over for a cookout while watching college football.  My friend, Rob, brought fall-off-the-bone baby back ribs.  I had NOTHING made – other than a big pot of boiled peanuts.  Ribs and peanuts?  Not a good pairing.  Well, I knew I had new potatoes – so potato salad is a given.  It’s a tried and true classic. But where do you go from there?  The recipes are endless…but in my case, what I had in fridge was not. So here it is; the quickest potato salad that I have ever made. It turned out really well.  We fought over leftovers – I pretty sure someone licked the bowl. 

Blue Cheese Potato Salad with Bacon

3 lbs red new potatoes
1 cup crumbled bacon
½ cup blue cheese crumbles
½ cup scallions, sliced thin
1 ½ cups good blue cheese salad dressing
Kosher Salt and cracked pepper

Get started by quartering your potatoes (try to keep them the same size so they cook evenly). Place in a sauce pan and cover with cold, salted water.  Cook over high heat until fork tender, about 10-15 minutes, drain the potatoes and let cool.  Once cool, mix potatoes and blue cheese dressing in a bowl.  Fold in bacon, scallions and cheese crumbles.  Salt and pepper to taste. 

It happens to everyone; we get busy and we are rushed to make something happen.  Sometimes it turns out to be a disaster and sometimes we are lucky.  This time I was lucky I guess; but my luck will soon run out.  When it does, you’ll be the first to know. 😉

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Matthew=1, Bad Planning=0”

  1. jamie Says:

    Bacon makes everything better so this sounds great!

  2. rhbulldawg Says:

    I do confess — I was the one licking the bowl! It was very yummy!!!

  3. rhbulldawg Says:

    Well, somethings are just too good to keep secret! LOL.. Bacon and Blue Cheese – how can you go wrong?

  4. Alyson Rowland Says:

    Matthew,

    This looks yummy. I will have to try it sometime. I am enjoying reading your site. I love to cook and can’t wait to read more about the mischief you get into!!!

    God Bless,

    Alyson

  5. Who Needs Fireworks? Just Serve Great Food! « Kitchen Mischief! Says:

    […] Blue Cheese Potato Salad with Bacon and Scallions Yes, I know.  Your granny makes your favorite potato salad.  But you can show granny a thing or two by making this delicious version.  I promise you won’t be disowned…it has bacon for goodness sake! Sorry, granny, bacon trumps everything.  Photo and Potatoes By Matthew […]

Leave a Reply

