Josh Made Me Do It

by
Meet Josh, my food dealer.

Meet Josh, my food dealer.

Let me state this in advance, Josh made me do it.  He made me crave Mexican Pork Goodness and as a result I came out of SAMs Wholesale with 20 lbs of pork shoulder and a mom caldron (aka crock pot).  What led me to purchase 20 lbs of pork shoulder you ask?  Well, a long story, short – after 2 ½ bottles of wine and a night at the theater, Josh warmed some pork he had made for Jennifer and Ben’s wedding shower and put it over a bowl of tortilla chips.  It. Was. Fabulous.   I was hooked; so come Saturday, I was pushing my huge buggy through the SAMs with my crock pot and massive package of pork. Basically this last weekend was Porky’s Nightmare – all pork, all weekend. 

As always I put a little spin on recipes to fit my taste so here is the version I made of Josh’s recipe:

Mexican Pork Goodness
1 pork shoulder – cut in to 2 inch cubes
1 10 oz can of Rotel with lime and cilantro
1 10oz can of Rotel – regular
6 tomatillos, roasted (optional)
4 garlic cloves, crushed
2 tablespoons Ancho chili powder
2 teaspoons kosher salt
2 teaspoons cracked pepper
2 teaspoons dried oregano
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 cup chicken broth
2 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce (use all of the sauce)
Olive Oil

To begin, heat a sauté pan and add 2 teaspoons of olive oil.  Add the chunks of pork shoulder (in batches) and sear all sides of the cubes until browned.  Add the cubes to the crock pot.  Add everything else – just dump it in.  Stir to combine.  Cover and cook on high for 6 hours.  Taste for seasoning – add additional salt and pepper to taste.  Serve over chips as nachos or in tortillas for soft tacos.   Yum.

With the Mexican Goodness going, I drew blank on how to prepare the second.  I could put it on the grill and cook it all night like I did in July’s post, “I like Big Butts, and I Cannot Lie”; but because of the time factor I would be babysitting that piece of pork till 1a.m.  Then I remembered mentioning a pork shoulder could be prepared in the oven; and that’s what I did.  I slathered the shoulder with a dry rub, placed it in a roasting dish, covered it tightly with aluminum foil and let that baby cook in the oven at 275 degrees for 12 hours.  Any rational human would have probably set their stove’s cook timer to automatically shut the oven off at 1 a.m.  Apparently, I am not rational or it may have been the fact that I haven’t used that function on my oven and I was scared; regardless, I bounded out of bed at 1:45 a.m. like crazy person to turn off my oven.  The result was tender, delicious pulled pork and possibly a broken toe. 

Everyone has their vices.  Yours may be chocolate or martinis or chocolate martinis; regardless we all have a craving now or then.  Hopefully, yours doesn’t cause you to run to a large wholesale club and purchase massive amounts of meat products.  So a quick word of caution, if you try any Kitchen Mischief recipe, become addicted, end up on A&E’s show Intervention holding your dish like a baby…don’t blame it on us, we tried to warn you.  Now off to my Pork Lovers Anonymous meeting. 🙂

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Josh Made Me Do It”

  1. David Says:

    Haha!! Too funny!! Did someone say “Baby”? I want a baby. (spoken in my best Angelina Jolie voice)

  2. Josh Says:

    i, too, have a pork addiction. now i must leave and get my fix!

  3. Surly Temple Says:

    It’s just nice that other people can admit to a pork addiction. I generall cook for 1-2 people and STILL make enough for an army, because if pork is good 20 lbs of pork is BETTER! This looks great, can’t wait to try it!

  4. Cinco de Mischief Recipe Round-Up « Kitchen Mischief! Says:

    […] Braised Chipotle Pork Deliciousness Matthew and I have both tackled this dish, and it’s a total winner. Since it requires a crock pot, the cook time is a committment. However, you can always set it in the morning, go have Happy Hour margaritas and chips at a restaurant, then come home to the most delicious Mexican meal ever.  Ask my friend Court…it’s GOOD. […]

Leave a Reply

