Homemade Tortilla Chips -or- Why My Husband is Convinced I Hate Him

by

chips

I’ve been on a bit of a food kick here lately. Last weekend the task du jour was preparing food for my friends’ (Jennifer and Ben) wedding shower. I had some great help…my pseudo-Mexican friend Courtñey stopped by on Friday; David and our friend Dana offered their help on Saturday. While I was on guacamole and savory salsa detail, David and Dana tackled dessert…a sweet fruit salsa with homemade cinnamon-sugar tortilla chips. It’s a great recipe from Southern Living that Judith introduced me to…it’s easy and a fun surprise at a party.

Anyhoo…the cinnamon-sugar tortilla chips are really tasty, and easy to do. Basically, just cut a stack of flour tortillas into eighths, arrange on a sheet pan, spritz with cooking spray, sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar, and bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes. Easy. Done. Delicious. That is, unless you are like my husband and place the pans on top of the washing machine which, when it hits the spin cycle, flings the pans to the floor with an inertial fury and a jarringly loud clatter-bang-clatter-bang-BAM! We didn’t even have to look…we knew it was bad. However, it wasn’t too major of a crisis…we had plenty of time to get more tortillas and start over. I just want everyone to know that I am not the ONLY one who gets stalked by mischief in this kitchen!

So, the party went great.  Predictably, there were tons of leftovers. David commented the next day, “All that salsa, and not a single chip.” So I told him that I would pick up some chips at the store the next day. But while I was perusing the aisles of Publix, I had another idea. Despite their rocky start, David seemed to love the cinnamon-sugar tortilla chips. So I thought, “Why not make some savory ones? What a great idea!” (all this was my interior monologue, I think) So I grabbed a pack of flour tortillas and carried on with my shopping.

Fast forward to six o’ clock…David walks in the door. We do the hug- “how’s your day” thing. He opens the fridge, eyes the salsa, and says, “Did you pick up any chips?” To which I respond, “Well, I had to get tortillas for our leftovers, so I thought I’d make some homemade chips.” To which he responds in classic deadpan David sarcasm, “Oh…Great.”

David is a man of simple tastes. Forget crudités and charcuterie—give him a taquito and some spinach artichoke dip and he’s a happy man. And let’s be honest…when you want a chip, you want a chip. It’s like the lesson I learned with the Mexican Brownies…there’s something to be said for playing into folks’ flavor expectations.

All that being said, I made the chips anyway. And they were tasty. But let’s be honest…they’re no Tostitos. I would venture that they’re prettier than Tostitos, which is why they’d make a great garnish. But when you’re jonesing for chips and salsa, go with the bag. It’s tastier, quicker, and you can avoid a Kitchen Mischief battle with your washing machine. Because there’s no winning against the spin cycle. 😉

5 Responses to “Homemade Tortilla Chips -or- Why My Husband is Convinced I Hate Him”

  1. Susan Rigby Says:

    hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!…makes me want to make a run for the border!!!

  2. Ben Says:

    I am still snacking on my cinnamon ones… they are a great late nite sweet tooth craver, that I don’t feel guilty about.

  3. David Says:

    The fact is… if I could learn to eat in moderation he would let me eat what ever I want. Alas, I’m really big on the “Gorge Yourself To Uncomfortable Diet.” Or the “Just Put It In Front Of Me Diet”. So I guess I’ll be licking lettuce wraps and having homemade baked chips until I get back down to a human weight for my size.

  4. steve oh boy Says:

    Sounds like a good reason to fall off the wagon. Got to have a cold one with the chips. One hour Later…feeling fine now!!! Oh, comment about the brownies..Had a friend, Beryl, who had a friend, Jessie, who was a carpenter from New Orleans, we called him Jessie Christ, who made really strange brownies…I gave Jessie’s dog, can’t remember the dogs name but it was really an ass, a couple of the brownies and he went outside and ate all the shish kabobs off the hot grille. Jessie came to visit Beryl and Sue and ended up staying a year and he didn’t even finish working on the cabinets.

  5. Savannah Says:

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a Reply

